Saturday, April 13, 2024
HomeYogaExploring Yoga: The Chakra System

Exploring Yoga: The Chakra System

The chakra system is basically a system of energy centers along the spinal column, each of which functions as a focus for the reception and transmission of psychophysical energies. Interestingly, there appears to be a robust relationship between the chakras and the neuroendocrine system as the placement of the chakras overlaps with that of the glands. The glands are accountable for secreting hormones directly into the bloodstream creating the chemical balance within the body. The chakras are situated along the spinal column and every of the energy centers concentrate on a special aspect of our body, mind and spirit experiences, which contribute to the aura we feature through the world.

The lower chakras within the system are essentially the most dominant as they represent our natural instincts, corresponding to survival, sexuality and dominance. As you stand up the energy line, the upper chakras reach a more spiritual plane. With a purpose to balance the existence of the Self (I’m-ness), there must be balance between the upper and lower chakras. When the Self emanates at its fullest potential, from the midpoint of the guts chakra, the search for spirituality comes from a spot of affection.

The word “chakra” means “wheel” and they look like a form of spinning wheel of sunshine to those that can see them. The chakras transform this light (life force / prana / chi) by releasing subtle energy into the aura and the a part of the physical body where they’re situated. Unbalanced chakras can result in physical imbalances. It’s plausible then that the disharmonious, unbalanced or insufficient flow of subtle energy through the chakras could possibly be the final word reason behind disease.

From the bottom most instinctual chakra rising to the best most spiritual one, the seven major chakras are: Muladhara (root), Svadisthana (sacral), Manipura (navel), Anahata (heart), Vishudda (throat), Ajna (brow) and Sahasrara (crown).

Muladhara (Root/Base) Chakra

The foundation chakra is situated at the bottom of the sacrum and the coccyx. It’s related to the earth element and the lower limbs and is energetically connected to the Adrenal glands. When Muladhara is imbalanced, it will possibly create insecurity, fight or flight responses and a way of being rootless – out of touch with gravity. Quite the opposite, we are able to stimulate Muladhara through the practice of Asanas (Frog, Bridge and ½ pigeon), by the colour red and with the mantra LAM to foster a robust sense of security, positive self image and grounded ness.

Svadisthana (Sacral/Sex) Chakra

Svadisthana is situated mid point between the navel and pubic bone and is related to the water element and sexual energy. Its connection to the neuroendocrine system appears to be through the sex glands (ovaries / testicles) which stimulates and maintains sexual characteristics and influences behavior. If Svadisthana is imbalanced it will possibly lead to primal emotions and lust. But with concentration on the colour orange, the mantra VAM and Asanas (pigeon, cobra, sphinx and half locust) we are able to create vitality and willfulness, creativity and sensuality from the energy of the sacral chakra.

Manipura (Navel/Solar Plexus) Chakra

Yow will discover the navel chakra halfway between the bottom of the sternum and the navel and it’s related to the fireplace element and private power. It’s connected to the pancreas which maintains blood sugar levels in our body which in turn affects our energy levels. Manipura or “jewel city” can affect us negatively with a way of helplessness, fear of change, feelings of being stuck and sometimes actions of brute force. Nevertheless, we are able to nourish our navel chakra meditating with the mantra RAM and the colour yellow and with the practice of Bow, Full Locust and Warrior postures, we are going to profit from power, vulnerability, calm assurance and adaptableness and an openness to vary.

Anahata (Heart) Chakra

Because the name identifies, find your heart chakra in the midst of your sternum. Anahata is the energetic center of the chakra system and is associated to the air element, the cardiac system and compassion for others. The center chakra connects to the glandular system through the guts and the thymus gland, effecting the event of immunity and love. Ignoring Anahata may lead to a way of despair and hardheartedness but through the practice of Camel and Fish postures, the colour green and the mantra YAM, one can cultivate a Self of compassion and unconditional love for the universe.

Vishudda (Throat) Chakra

Vishudda rests within the hole of the throat and is related to the ether element, the auditory system, self-expression, energy and endurance. The throat chakra’s connection to the neuroendocrine system is the thyroid gland which secretes hormones that affect the metabolism of the body. Imbalanced, Vishudda might leave you with a prejudiced perception of the world and a rigidity to vary. Then again, activating your throat chakra with Shoulder stand and Plow pose and meditating with the colour blue and the mantra HAM can ignite your sense of reason, logic, creative expression and commitment to speaking the reality.

Ajna (Third Eye/Brow) Chakra

Go between your eyebrows to seek out your third eye chakra which is related to the sunshine element, sensory input, intuition, telepathic communication and the flexibility to meditate. Ajna has a connection to the Pituitary gland which contributes to the reception of the nervous system and the secretions of hormones. Blocking the trail to Samadhi, the imbalanced Ajna will lead to our wish to manage things and our narrow-mindedness. But intuition, creative pondering and a bigger view of life will nourish our energy system through the practice of Yoga Mudra and concentration on the colour indigo purple and the mantra OM.

Sahasrara (Crown) Chakra

At the best energy center within the chakra system, situated at the highest of your head you blossom your crown chakra. To avoid a scarcity of consciousness and feelings of being put down and alienation, practice sitting in silent meditation in lotus posture. Give attention to the pineal gland’s role of making the flexibility to see inside – pure intuitive perception. Concentrate your imagination on a violet white lotus blossom opening up on the crown of your head and absorb the aroma of cosmic understanding and oneness with all that can come to you.

With the continued practice of yoga and an exploration of its eight limbs, mantras, meditations and root locks, we proceed to open the energy lines to create balance within the chakra system. As we maintain this equilibrium, we are going to profit from the energetic affirmations noted above and lift our energy from our primal instincts to the next level of spiritual awareness and existence on the earth. Who knows? Perhaps we may even find Samadhi.

- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Must Read
- Advertisement -spot_img
- Advertisement -spot_img
Related News
- Advertisement -spot_img


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here